On Human Thinking

King.   Exhibit to me, if you please, this motion from left to right.

I.   Nay, that I cannot do, unless you could step out of your Line altogether.

King.   Out of my Line? Do you mean out of the world? Out of Space?

I.   Well, yes. Out of your World. Out of your Space. For your Space is not the real Space. True Space is a Plane; but your Space is only a Line.

King.   If you cannot indicate this motion from left to right by yourself moving in it, then I beg you to describe it to me in words.

I.   If you cannot tell your right side from your left, I fear that no words of mine can make my meaning clear to you. But surely you cannot be ignorant of so simple a distinction.

King.   I do not in the least understand you.

– Edwin A. Avbbott, Flatland

Kommentar verfassen

